What do others say about Dinnertainment?

5
Rated 5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (based on 61 reviews)
Excellent100%
Very good0%
Average0%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

Great Experience and Food!!!

Rated 5 out of 5
December 9, 2021

Dinnertainment was such an amazing time. Food was excellent and their chilaquiles with mole were out of this world. I would recommend Dinnertainment to any family who wants to eat authentic Mexican food in their home setting. They will prepare the perfect Breakfast, Lunch, or Dinner. The food was amazing.

Erik R Dreke

Delicious, and so easy!

Rated 5 out of 5
December 9, 2021

We arrived to the island knowing that our first meal was going to be totally taken care of by Dinnertainment. They were easy to work with to plan prior. They arrived in a timely manner. The chefs were professionally, and kind and fun. The dishes they served (especially the chili rellenos!) were authentic and so delicious. We opted for no music, since it was our first evening. But margaritas and dinner- we would do it again and again! Also, bonus- leftovers for snacks and lunches for the next day or two!!!

Arwen Podesta

Perfect in every way

Rated 5 out of 5
December 6, 2021

Javi and his staff were truly amazing!! They came to our rental property and created a perfect, intimate experience for our wedding dinner. The food was exquisite, incredible service and Javi’s talent and charismatic personality made for a very entertaining evening. Thanks Javi for making my wedding dinner better than I could have imagined.

Jessica Cordell

Best food and staff! Treated like Family!!!

Rated 5 out of 5
November 30, 2021

Dinnertainment is amazing! We have had Javi and his team on our last two trips and they do not disappoint! The food is delicious (breakfast, lunch and dinner)! The staff goes above and beyond! Shout out to Javi, Karen and the rest of the amazing staff!!!

Paula M Cheskie

Such an amazing experience for our retreat

Rated 5 out of 5
November 14, 2021

Dinnertainment was such an amazing )family owned) company to work with. Our food was deliciously prepared in our house on the island. The ink squid noodles were amazing as well as the shrimp main dish. The live acoustic music that Javi provided was so engaging and personal. I would recommend them a million times over for an intimate wonderful dinner experience
Thanks to Javi and his family for such a unique beautiful experience

Kim Baker

Great Experience and Food!!!

Rated 5 out of 5
December 9, 2021

Dinnertainment was such an amazing time. Food was excellent and their chilaquiles with mole were out of this world. I would recommend Dinnertainment to any family who wants to eat authentic Mexican food in their home setting. They will prepare the perfect Breakfast, Lunch, or Dinner. The food was amazing.

Erik R Dreke

Delicious, and so easy!

Rated 5 out of 5
December 9, 2021

We arrived to the island knowing that our first meal was going to be totally taken care of by Dinnertainment. They were easy to work with to plan prior. They arrived in a timely manner. The chefs were professionally, and kind and fun. The dishes they served (especially the chili rellenos!) were authentic and so delicious. We opted for no music, since it was our first evening. But margaritas and dinner- we would do it again and again! Also, bonus- leftovers for snacks and lunches for the next day or two!!!

Arwen Podesta

Perfect in every way

Rated 5 out of 5
December 6, 2021

Javi and his staff were truly amazing!! They came to our rental property and created a perfect, intimate experience for our wedding dinner. The food was exquisite, incredible service and Javi’s talent and charismatic personality made for a very entertaining evening. Thanks Javi for making my wedding dinner better than I could have imagined.

Jessica Cordell

The Best

Rated 5 out of 5
December 1, 2021

I just wanted to let you know that you and your team members were the best!!!
The food was excellent, best we have ever had, the service was terrific and the entertainment was out of this world
We are still talking about what a fun evening we had and my wife was blown away with her birthday dinner. Great surprise, great people!!!
And the food tasted great again today.
I will be looking for the video as I want to share it with our kids and grand kids.
What you did last night far exceeded any expectations I had and I couldn’t have been happier you made our week here in Isla Mujeres the highlight of our trip.
Keep up the great work!

Richard Smith

Best food and staff! Treated like Family!!!

Rated 5 out of 5
November 30, 2021

Dinnertainment is amazing! We have had Javi and his team on our last two trips and they do not disappoint! The food is delicious (breakfast, lunch and dinner)! The staff goes above and beyond! Shout out to Javi, Karen and the rest of the amazing staff!!!

Paula M Cheskie

Such an amazing experience for our retreat

Rated 5 out of 5
November 14, 2021

Dinnertainment was such an amazing )family owned) company to work with. Our food was deliciously prepared in our house on the island. The ink squid noodles were amazing as well as the shrimp main dish. The live acoustic music that Javi provided was so engaging and personal. I would recommend them a million times over for an intimate wonderful dinner experience
Thanks to Javi and his family for such a unique beautiful experience

Kim Baker

Snacks and margaritas delivered? Yes, please!

Rated 5 out of 5
October 19, 2021

We ordered some snacks (chips, guac, salsa, cerviche) and margaritas one afternoon for our villa rental. Not only was everything excellent, the service was great! Very easy to coordinate and the portions were really generous so we had some leftover snacks for a few days. We’ve dined at Javi’s in the past and the restaurant was superb. On a previous trip, we were in a group with their full dinnertainment and that was wonderful!
They offer a lot of options for a great experience. We’re happy to recommend them and look forward to the next time!

Amber & Ron

Awesome As Usual

Rated 5 out of 5
October 19, 2021

Thank you Javi and the guys for the great meal and entertainment, aka Dinnertainment, last week. Everything was perfect! And thank you very much Marla for Dorothy’s birthday cake. I wish that you could have been there also. Hopefully next time.

Keith Black

Great Food & Entertainment

Rated 5 out of 5
October 10, 2021

The food, service and entertainment were wonderful! We recently had a group of 12 served at an Air B&B in celebration of my birthday and everything was just wonderful. Especially loved that the chef was also the singer/guitar player, it was a perfectly, lovely, delicious experience.

Patty

Perfect in Every way!

Rated 5 out of 5
October 8, 2021

Great food, great service, great music! What a wonderful experience for my family, best food all week we were there! Made my mother’s birthday perfect!

Shannon

Dinnertainment

Rated 5 out of 5
October 5, 2021

Thanks again for Javi ,Marla & their team! Everything was perfecto!

Scott Blackhurst

Welcome To Isla The Dinnertainment Way

Rated 5 out of 5
September 23, 2021

This time we took advantage of ordering “snacks” and margaritas for our arrival. Upon entering our rental, we were greeted by an amazing presentation of chips, salsa, pico de gallo, shrimp ceviche, flautas, tostadas and guacamole. Everything was incredible and went perfectly with the delicious and freshly made pitcher of margaritas. Javi, Marla and their entire team are the best caterers on the island and are terrific to work with. Quality service start to finish. We highly recommend Dinnertainment and are looking forward to our next experience with them.

Cassie Christiansen

Amazing

Rated 5 out of 5
September 20, 2021

This was one of the highlights of our trip!!! We were hesitant to book anything at the Casa Vista because we have had several in home vacation dinners on different vacations and they were not what we expected. We had a great time watching Javi and his team preparing our food in front of us and the entertainment was great. All 7 of us had a great time!! I would definitely suggest it on your trip to Isla Mujeres.

Susan Brashear

Nothing But Fun!!

Rated 5 out of 5
September 9, 2021

We booked a dinnertainment for 12 at Casa Coco for my 60th birthday extravaganza. The food was great! (Tacos, rice, flan, margaritas) The service was great! And the entertainment was great! I wish I had booked another meal with them. Great fun was had by everyone. Highly recommend. (and I’m hard to please)

Christina Johnson

Best dinner on my trip!

Rated 5 out of 5
September 8, 2021

I absolutely loved dinnertainment on my recent visit to Isla Mujeres for my 30th birthday. The chefs made the food in front of us and even caught the fish they prepared. I am so happy we decided to do this. All of the 9 girls I was with truly loved it and had a great time.

Miriah Soliz

Snacks and great service!!

Rated 5 out of 5
September 3, 2021

We used the snack and drink service on our recent visit !! The service and food were great!! So nice to arrive from the ferry and find chips and salsa and a cold margarita waiting at our rental home!!

Marsha

80th Birthday Celebration

Rated 5 out of 5
September 3, 2021

This was an amazing experience. Javi prepared dinner and provided musical entertainment for the birthday girl. She was over the moon. Javi also prepared a beautiful birthday cake that was awesome!! Happy that we made this choice.

Helena D.

Birthday Dinner was Perfect!

Rated 5 out of 5
August 17, 2021

What a great decision! Javi’s Cantina was the absolutely perfect. From organization to set up and the food, omg I will order from them every time I am on the island! Javi’s daughter was our caterer and she was excellente!! I ordered a beautiful cake that was delicious and breakfast the next morning as the cherry on top.

Tatiyana S.

Dinnertainment - Amazing

Rated 5 out of 5
August 4, 2021

We had Javi and his team provide dinner for our group of 12 for the entire week we were on Isla. The whole experience was amazing. Marla worked with us to develop a menu that would satisfy all 12 and Javi prepared and served amazing dishes. All 5 meals got a huge thumbs up from even all 5 of the kids!! Javi prepared our fresh catch (Wahoo, snapper, grouper, and triggerfish) to perfection and the Conch ceviche didn’t last long! Thank you again Marla, Javi and team. We look forward to dining again with you on our next visit!

Jay Weatherwax

Dinnertainment Review

Rated 5 out of 5
July 29, 2021

The food was gourmet quality and one of the members of our party had food allergies that they were very careful to address. Plus the entertainment was superb! Will recommend to anyone who would like to have an evening at home with food as good if not better than any restaurant. Except we are sure Javis’ place in town is also excellent!

Dianne Guidry

Great

Rated 5 out of 5
July 8, 2021

Great job

Terry

Encantador servicio

Rated 5 out of 5
July 7, 2021

Al ser un servicio mayoritariamente para extranjeros, resultó perfecto para una boda donde los invitados eran alemanes y mexicanos, excelente sabor y montaje. La atención de Karen maravillosa, mil gracias.

Silvia Muñoz

Best food and service!

Rated 5 out of 5
June 20, 2021

What a treat to show up to our air B and B and have groceries stocked and a beef nacho bar! The crew were so friendly and the food was just what we needed after a long day travel! Thank you for such a great experience. Also the guacamole was incredible!!!

Lisa Roethling

Javi and his team were one of the highlights of our trip.

Rated 5 out of 5
May 27, 2021

The entire experience of a personal chef and entertainer was incredible! Javi is just so much fun, his food is amazing and his sweet and other team members were great! His food presentations and ability to juggle requests while preparing the meals for 10 people was an art in itself! He is a wonderfully talented entertainer too. Beautiful voice. We even went to his restaurant one night and he prepared Huachinango a la Veracruzana for my husband. WOW. Best we have ever had. The experience will have us returning to the island again soon.

Kay Waghorne

Amazing in home chef experience

Rated 5 out of 5
May 26, 2021

Javi and his team came to our air bnb to cook for a group of 7 of us. The food was absolutely incredible and so fresh. Javi was wonderful to work with and the live music was so fun. 10/10 recommend

Becky Ackerman

Best Delivery Experience

Rated 5 out of 5
May 26, 2021

Javi delivered amazing Margaritas, chips, salsa guacamole and ceviche to our rental home! Absolutely amazing! We got to meet Javi and even with our brief meeting we all can’t wait until we return to Isla so we can do Dinnertainment!! Maria Bainbridge Martinez also made a fabulous Pina Colada cake for my boyfriend’s birthday! Also Awesome!

Pamela Peterson

Start your trip off right !

Rated 5 out of 5
May 19, 2021

For over 5 years now we have been using Javis services ..actually can’t be a trip with out having dinner with him and his wife. He is always there and ready and does a fantastic job. His staff is extremely pleasant and fun to be with..The food is always great…they are waiting for us at the villa when we arrive all ready with drinks to greet us. Part of the family.

Phil Vass

Amazing Evening

Rated 5 out of 5
May 14, 2021

When staying on Isla you must have Javis, Karen and Amber over for an evening! The food, drinks, service, and definitely the entertainment was excellent. This is a must do or you will miss out on personalized cuisine and education from a true local of the island. Thank you dinnertainment for a night to remember.

Charise

Highlight of the trip!

Rated 5 out of 5
April 29, 2021

My family was in Isla Mujeres last week and decided to try out the dinnertainment. I cannot recommend it enough. The food was amazing. The entertainment was so much fun. Javi is a blast. It was definitely one of the highlights of our trip.

Tonya Howard

Service at it's Best!!!

Rated 5 out of 5
March 29, 2021

We arranged for two events….a taco bar on the day of our arrival and dinner two days later for our anniversary meal. Although I gave them the wrong day of arrival they were very understanding and rescheduled without an issue. The taco bar was served hot and the fish and shrimp were absolutely wonderful!!
We were even more impressed with our anniversary meal. The chef and his assistant were amazing host! They prepared the food timely and served it hot. It was the best meal we had all week!!
We would definitely request their service again!!
Anthony

Anthony Jackson

Great evening catered by Javi!

Rated 5 out of 5
January 29, 2021

We hired Javi and his crew to come set up the taco bar and margs at our hotel. The experience exceeded our expectations! The food arrived (and stayed!) warm, was set up beautifully, and tasted amazing. Plus, the margaritas were salted to perfection. I highly recommend Javi’s Dinnertainment for the friendly and positive attitude of Javi and his staff, the delicious food, and the many convenient options.

Courtney

Best part of trip

Rated 5 out of 5
November 24, 2020

It was windy and rainy the whole week we were there but the night of our Dinnertainment help to make up for it! Great food and music. We laughed so much that night. It was like hanging out with great friends!

Traci Chapman

Fantastic Entertainment and Food

Rated 5 out of 5
November 22, 2020

From the planning to the actual evening, this was a fantastic group to work with. Marla, was very accomodating and easy to work with. She was a tremendous help! The Chef and Entertainer, Javi, was a real character and so fun to watch. His meal was wonderful but his personality was the best. I highly recommend this for your visit to Isla Mujeres!

SHERYL

10 Star Experience

Rated 5 out of 5
October 19, 2020

This was an experience of a lifetime. Javi and staff provided a wonderful night for our group. We are still talking about the fun and the food was excellent. Marla had great communication in the planning process. I can’t recommend this experience enough!

Ashlie Deilgat

wonderful evening of entertainment and a delightful dinner

Rated 5 out of 5
September 17, 2020

A group of us all ventured out to Casa de los Suenos for a wonderful evening of entertainment and a delightful dinner hosted by Javi and Marla. It was an evening to remember and we would recommend Javi and Marla’s Dinnertainment to all.”

Tony & Mim Gallagher

First ever Dinnertainment Soiree

Rated 5 out of 5
September 17, 2020

“I’ve been traveling to Isla Mujeres annually for the past 11 years. this year we were lucky enough to attend the first ever Dinnertainment Soiree. it was an evening filled with GREAT food, authentic Mexican dance, and intimate acoustic music and storytelling of the beloved island.” , October 2015

Tina Bergstrom

Our favorite by far!

Rated 5 out of 5
August 17, 2020

Our night with Javi and Marla was our favorite by far! The food was amazing and huge portions! The music was fun and we had a sing along! They are fun, professional and experienced! They know exactly how to cater a party! That’s what it felt like, like we were having a party in our home, but we didn’t have to prep, cook, or clean up! So So fun!

Kimberly Peterson

I would highly recommend this.

Rated 5 out of 5
June 7, 2020

Recently a friend and I experienced a evening meal different from anything we had done before. We are both Isla residents and my friend Vivien is a restaurant owner. Entertainment took place at Cass de lots Suenos a beautiful setting so we experienced a beautiful sunset. The evening began with cocktails and appetizers in a informal setting so all of the 15 or so guest could mingle and get to know one another, it is always nice to meet new people. Next we were treated to a number of authentic dances from different parts of Mexico. They were terrific. Then a fabulous dinner prepared by a great chef . This evening was much more then we expected. I would highly recommend this. It will be an evening you won’t forget.”

Gigi Kraycar

Javi told great stories while he prepped the food

Rated 5 out of 5
September 1, 2018

It was a special dinner to entertain my mom, and my husbands mom, and it certainly was a most memorable night. All of us were brought to happy tears and laughing the entire night, its truly a moving experience having Javi and his team cook for you. The food was fantastic, the entertainment was on point, and the overall experience was something magical. Javi and his team were professional but totally personable, energetic, and educational! Javi told great stories while he prepped the food, had my younger kids learning kitchen rules, and even brought adorable decorations for the table. They left the kitchen perfectly spotless, you wouldn’t even know anyone had used it! It was my first time hiring a chef and i know Dinnertainment will be my only call next time. I wish i could hire him for every special occasion, but unfortunately, he’s in Isla Mujeres and i live in Minnesota!

Erin and Jake Olsen and their kids Emily, Ashley, & Evan and Grandmas Ellen and Judy

Awesome would be an understatement!!

Rated 5 out of 5
October 2, 2015

What a GREAT time we had with y’all last night. To say that it was awesome would be an understatement!!

Keith Black

It was a great event and we would 100% recommend you and your services.

Rated 5 out of 5
September 17, 2015

“The group as well as myself would like to say thank you for the great meal and entertainment. It was a great event and we would 100% recommend you and your services. Thanks again!”

Jim Mathewson

kind and authentic company, food, and music!

Rated 5 out of 5
July 17, 2015

Thank you both for blessing our trip with kind and authentic company, food, and music! We’ll be in touch!!!”

Ken Todd

We got just what we were hoping for

Rated 5 out of 5
July 17, 2015

“My family booked an evening with Marla & Javi to celebrate my parent’s 50th wedding anniversary during our vacation to the Isla. We got just what we were hoping for: a carefree night of delicious food, great music, and lots of laughs. This was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. Highly recommended!”

Adam Ruskowitz

You are now part of our Isla tradition.

Rated 5 out of 5
June 9, 2015

“Thank you so much for this evening. We had such a great time. Everything was perfect and the kids loved the music. You all were awesome! We enjoyed it so much. You are now part of our Isla tradition.”

Joel Andrus

What a treat!

Rated 5 out of 5
December 17, 2014

Mark, our entire crew and myself were very pleased with you and Javi. Your cooking and presentation of the food you had prepared was outstanding. We enjoyed chatting with the both of you and learning more and more about the beauty of the island. We all had a ball dancing around the pool area while Javi jammed on the guitar and you complimented him with your powerful voice. I especially enjoyed the fact that you provided all of the food and cleaned up the entire kitchen. What a treat! We look forward to having you back with us this

Lisa Edwards

Finally found what I was looking for

Rated 5 out of 5
November 9, 2014

After a few years of trying to source the right caterer for our group of 8 woman I think we finally found the one. What a wonderful combination of food, music and good company. It was obvious from the beginning that Marla and Javi cared about the quality and presentation, including mexican tableware and linens. The food was of a superior quality, fresh greens/veges with every course having delicious flavour and special touches.Such personable and talented duo with the abilty to mix great drinks, prepare dinner, sing, play guitar and all this with laughter and wide smiles. Highly recommend to everyone to make your island experience even more memorable. Thanks Marla and Javi.

Kelly Shaw-Swettenham

Incredible

Rated 5 out of 5
October 17, 2014

The evening that you provided us with was incredible. Thank you both so much for a very special and wonderful meal and entertainment. ,

Lynn McAnelly

The food was outstanding and the Entertainment was perfect

Rated 5 out of 5
October 10, 2014

Just wanted to tell you how much I enjoyed the birthday celebration! The food was outstanding and the Entertainment was perfect for the Jugs! I especially loved being Entertained right there at the beautiful Casa! Thanks for playing my song! Please come to Houston sometime.

Candy Ludwick

Our with Javi and Marla, was over the top

Rated 5 out of 5
October 9, 2014

Our with Javi and Marla, was over the top. The appetizers and margaritas started the night. The menu with a salad and fresh grilled vegetables was the best we experienced on the island! Then to add entertainment for the night, couldn’t have been a better birthday celebration for the J.U.G.’s. Thanks for a great evening!

Nanci Szydlik

What a wonderful experience.

Rated 5 out of 5
October 6, 2014

What a wonderful experience. From the margaritas thru the dessert it was very enjoyable to the pallet. The family like atmosphere, stories and music made the evening one the my favorites of my trip. Thank you Marla and Javi, you left us wanting more.

Keith

Dinnertainment was unique and fun as well as delicious!

Rated 5 out of 5
October 3, 2014

“THANK YOU! We’ve been to Isla many times and have had the pleasure of having many wonderful chefs cook for us, but our experience with Dinnertainment was unique and fun as well as delicious! We can’t thank you enough for making a birthday party to remember! The birthday cake was delicious and the decorations festive, making our evening incredibly special. Music, beautiful vocals….and mama! We couldn’t have asked for more!”

Jennine Egan

one of our favorite nights last week while on Isla Mujeres.

Rated 5 out of 5
September 17, 2014

We wanted to thank Javi and Marla for one of our favorite nights last week while on Isla Mujeres. The food and music they provided was awesome. We laughed and had a sing along, which was so much fun!

Pat Meyer

large group and a large time!!!

Rated 5 out of 5
September 17, 2014

Last visit to Isla I left the planning to good folks at Dinnertainment. We had a large group and a large time!!! Such fun!!!!

Mark Brashear

We are still talking about it

Rated 5 out of 5
September 17, 2014

We are still talking about our diner with you all. The teens actually had a great time. I think they would do it again if we had time this trip.

Carolyn Wilkenson

Had a ball! A highlight of the trip.

Rated 5 out of 5
September 17, 2014

Had a ball! A highlight of the trip.

Eden Gaha

Can't wait to do this again!

Rated 5 out of 5
September 17, 2014

Can’t wait to get back to Isla and Dinnertainment. Absolutely the best night of entertaining we have hosted in our 15 years on the island! Marla and Javi have such wonderful menu ideas and are flexible enough to incorporate those guests with dietary issues. We had 8 of us and everyone is still talking about what a special night it was. The food, the music, the fabulous ease with which M and J cooked, served, entertained, and cleaned up – it was an evening we could host without any effort on our part. What could be better than to be a guest at your own party?? That is what Dinnertainment does. Don’t miss the chance to have a special evening of your own!

Janet Berry

Thank you!

Rated 5 out of 5
July 17, 2014

Thank you Marla and Javi!! We all loved the food and we all enjoyed the music! You guys are awesome!

Anna

A memorable, useful and immersive experience

Rated 5 out of 5
February 17, 2014

A memorable, useful and immersive experience and a highlight of my trip. They kindly tailored the cooking course to fit the one person – covering everything from the supermarket to the dinner table with good humour, authentic local flavours (chili-concentration calculated to my foreign palette) and expertly creative guidance. Not for those looking for a pre-fabricated course lifted from a recipe book, Javi takes you off the tourist trail into a free-style and fun cooking in a welcoming and relaxed atmosphere. Everything I learnt was recorded by Marla’s photography so I am definitely going to attempt to recreate Chili Rellenos and all the dips and drinks that went with it!

Anna Wakelin

Marla and Javier made quite an impression

Rated 5 out of 5
February 17, 2014

Marla and Javier made quite an impression last week providing the perfect combination of food and entertainment specifically tailored to our request. Seven ladies, dinner buffet, extraordinary drinks, a fun round of sing alongs, plus a field trip to watch their band perform live in downtown Isla. After a relaxing day by the pool my girlfriends and I let Marla do it all, and we took home fabulous memories and feel we have made friends for life! Thank you!! And make sure you get Marla to sing too – what a beautiful voice!

Cathy Cassady Kearns

Wow!

Rated 5 out of 5
November 17, 2013

Wow, just finished an amazing Thanksgiving dinner.

Katie Williamson

Perfect Dinner and Perfect Entertainment!

Rated 5 out of 5
October 7, 2013

Perfect Dinner and Perfect Entertainment!

Missy Frickey Jaeger

Doesn't get any better than this!

Rated 5 out of 5
May 17, 2013

Just doesn’t get any better than this! Such a wonderful addition to the island.

Ashley Blogin

Rate your experience here!